Governing Body


The Governors oversee the running of the school, which is carried out by the School Leadership Team. Governors have an executive role in policy development, the appointment of the headteacher and the hearing of appeals from both staff and parents. To facilitate efficient management the governing body consists of two main committees. These are the resources and the curriculum and pupil welfare committees. All decisions made by these committees must be ratified by the main governing body.

Instrument of Government

Who are the Governors?

Recent changes mean the governing bodies can decide how many governors the need to carry out their duties and responsibilities. There are now 12 governors on the Brent Knoll Governing Body consisting of:

  • The Headteacher
  • 3 parent governors elected by parents of pupils at Brent Knoll
  • 1 staff governor elected by the staff
  • 1 local authority appointed governor
  • 3 co-opted governors
  • 3  Foundation governors ( appointed by the Brent Knoll and Watergate Co-operative Trust )

The members of the governing body are:

(Click on the names for more information)

Chair of Governors

Laura Deitz: Parent Governor

Vice Chair

Cassim Bakharia: Foundation Governor


Andy Taylor: Headteacher

Simon Whitlock: Co-opted Governor

Cheryl Cowie: Parent Governor

Oluwafela Ajayi: Parent Governor

James Rene: Local Authority Governor

Kate Nicklin: Staff Governor

Eibhlish Fleming: Foundation Governor

Lo’anntha Ebanks-chambers: Co-opted Governor

Lucy Govan: Co-opted Governor

Michael Garrick: Clerk to the governing body

Associate Members

Rachael Edwards-Coutts: Associate Member

Committee Membership and Link Governors

As well as being members of the Governing body, the governors also sit on one of the two main sub committees or are Link Governors who have special areas of responsibilities

Teaching and Learning –
Chair – Laura Deitz
Andy Taylor
Lucy Govan
Eibhlish Fleming

Resources Committee –
Chair – Simon Whitlock
Andy Taylor
James Rene
Oluwafela Ajayi

Children, Families and Community –
Cheryl Cowie
Lo’anntha Ebanks-chambers
Rachel Edwards-Coutts
Cassim Bakharia

Pay Committee –

Headteacher Pay and Performance –
Laura Deitz
Simon Whitlock

Link governors

Safeguarding and Children Looked After: Cheryl Cowie

Health and Safety: Oluwafela Ajayi

Building: James Rene

Governor Training and Development: Cheryl Cowie

Adhoc Committees and Panels : 3 governors may be called in rotation to sit on the following committees and panels

Disciplinary/Grievance and Dismissal and Disciplinary/Grievance/Dismissal Appeals

Pupil Discipline Committee

Complaints Panel

Headship/Deputy Head Appointment Panel

What do Governors do?

Governors make visits to the school to ensure that the decisions they make are implemented and that any new government initiatives are in place. They provide challenge and support the school leadership team in achieving the strategic aims of the school. Governors are also required to declare any business interests in the school. The latest register of business interests can be seen by clicking on the link below –

Brent Knoll Governors Register of Interest Sept 2018-19

A record of Governor attendance at meetings can also be seen here –

Brent Knoll Governors Information 2017-18

The Governors can be contacted through the school via the administrative team.

Governing Body Meeting Minutes

The minutes of the latest meeting of the Governing Body can be seen by clicking on the links below:

Governing Body Meeting Minutes 02-03-2019

Governing Body Meeting Minutes 19-12-2018

Governing Body Meeting Minutes 18-09-2018

The minutes of earlier meetings can be seen by contacting the school office.

Contact The School

Brent Knoll School

Perry Rise

SE23 2QU
0208 699 1047

Telephone and speak to one of our admin team Gemma Brownhill, Jenny Elliott, Kyra Williamson or Natasha Turnbull on the number above.

Headteacher: Mr Andy Taylor

Address: Perry Rise,
SE23 2QU


Telephone: 020 8699 1047

Staff Login: Login

Governor Login: Login